natio



#### "SEXUAL ASSAULT AWARENESS MONTH"

#### **APRIL 2017**

**WHEREAS,** Sexual Assault Awareness Month is intended to draw attention to the fact that sexual violence is widespread and has public health implications for every community member of the City of North Port; and rape, sexual assault, and sexual harassment impact our community as seen by statistics indicating that 41.8% of women and 20.5% of men have been sexually assaulted and in 1 in 6 women will be raped in the state of Florida; and

WHEREAS, We must work together to educate our community about what can be done to prevent sexual assault and how to support survivors; and with leadership, dedication, and encouragement, there is compelling evidence that we can be successful in reducing sexual violence in North Port through prevention education, increased awareness, and holding perpetrators who commit acts of violence responsible for their actions; and

WHEREAS, Safe Place and Rape Crisis Center (SPARCC) provides free services to victims of domestic violence and sexual assault and their children in Sarasota and Desoto Counties, seeks to stop the crime of sexual violence through awareness and education, and encourages every citizen to actively engage in public and private efforts, including conversations about sexual violence, how to prevent it, how to help survivors connect with services, and how every segment of our society can work together to better address sexual violence; and

**NOW, THEREFORE,** we the City Commission of the City of North Port, Florida, do hereby proclaim the month April 2017 as

## SEXUAL ASSAULT AWARENESS MONTH

and urge all citizens to observe this month by becoming aware of the tragedy of sexual assault, supporting those who are working toward its end, and participating in community efforts.

**IN WITNESS WHEREOF,** we have hereunto set our hands and Seal of the City of North Port, Florida to be affixed this 6<sup>th,</sup> day of April 2017.

# ATTEST:

## **CITY OF NORTH PORT, FLORIDA**

Patsy C. Adkins, MMC City Clerk Linda M. Yates, Mayor

Vanessa Carusone, Vice-Mayor

Christopher B. Hanks, Commissioner

Debbie McDowell, Commissioner